The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

2017 Cardinals Spring Schedule – November 7 Version

On Monday, the Houston Astros announced their 2017 Spring Training schedule. The St. Louis Cardinals will play their former National League Central Division rival four times – two at home and two away.

That increases the number of St. Louis’ road contests to five at the new Florida home of the Astros and Nationals – Ballpark of the Palm Beaches. The complex remains on track to open in the spring.

In addition, the Minnesota Twins’ spring schedule was published last week. These two clubs – Astros and Twins – tentatively increase the number of Cardinals spring training games to 17, including 15 in the Grapefruit League.

Among the nearby Cardinals opponents to have also not yet announced their spring slates are the Miami Marlins and New York Mets. Also, at least one World Baseball Classic exhibition game seems possible.

11/7 update: On Monday, the Nationals also divulged their full spring schedule, with the new neighbor facing off against the Cardinals a total of eight times, including five at Roger Dean Stadium. Updated total is 22 spring games announced, of which 20 will be held in Florida.

11/10 update: The Cardinals have announced their full Grapefruit League game schedule, which is posted here. The next updates here at The Cardinal Nation Blog will be as spring radio and television plans for the Cardinals and their opponents trickle out over the upcoming days and weeks. So be sure to check back here!

Day Date Opponent Location Local time
Fri 24 Feb
Sat 25 Feb
Sun 26 Feb Marlins Jupiter
Mon 27 Feb Nationals Jupiter
Tue 28 Feb
Wed 01 Mar
Thu 02 Mar
Fri 03 Mar at Nationals W. Palm Beach 1:05
Sat 04 Mar Nationals Jupiter
Sun 05 Mar
Mon 06 Mar at Twins Fort Myers
Tue 07 Mar
Wed 08 Mar Nationals Jupiter
Thu 09 Mar Astros Jupiter 1:05
Fri 10 Mar at Nationals W. Palm Beach 1:05
Sat 11 Mar
Sun 12 Mar “at” Marlins Jupiter
Mon 13 Mar Astros Jupiter 1:05
Tue 14 Mar
Wed 15 Mar at Twins Fort Myers
Thu 16 Mar Twins Jupiter
Fri 17 Mar at Mets Pt. St. Lucie
Sat 18 Mar
Sun 19 Mar at Braves Disney
Mon 20 Mar at Astros W. Palm Beach 5:05
Tue 21 Mar
Wed 22 Mar Nationals Jupiter
Thu 23 Mar
Fri 24 Mar at Nationals W. Palm Beach 1:05
Sat 25 Mar
Sun 26 Mar “at” Marlins Jupiter
Mon 27 Mar at Astros W. Palm Beach TBA
Tue 28 Mar
Wed 29 Mar Nationals Jupiter
Thu 30 Mar at Memphis Memphis TBA
Fri 31 Mar at Springfield Springfield 5:05
Sat 01 Apr
Sun 02 Apr
Mon 03 Apr Cubs St. Louis 3:05 reg season opener

As had been previously announced, the Cardinals will close camp in Florida by Wednesday, March 28, as they conclude their spring exhibition campaign with single games at the homes of their top two minor league affiliates. AutoZone Park and the Memphis Redbirds will host St. Louis on Thursday, March 30 and Hammons Field fans will welcome St. Louis for a contest with Double-A Springfield on Friday, March 31.

The Cardinals will open the 2017 regular season at home against the Chicago Cubs on Monday, April 3.

As more information is known about the Cardinals spring training plans, including when tickets will go on sale, as well as television and radio schedules, you know where to find it. Of course, everything to date is unofficial and is subject to change.

Follow me on Twitter.

Follow me

Brian Walton

Brian Walton runs The Cardinal Nation and The Cardinal Nation Blog, covering the St. Louis Cardinals and minor league system.
Follow me

2 Responses to “2017 Cardinals Spring Schedule – November 7 Version”

  1. JumboShrimp says:

    The Cubs won, big news.
    The Cubs are owned by the Ricketts family, big supporters of Republicans, now politically ascendant.
    Trumps surprising win ushers in an era of change. More big news.

    • JumboShrimp says:

      Mo needs to adapt to the ascendency of the Cubs by seeking big changes. Since it can take years to rebuild however, Mo needs to be careful and avoid Hail Mary attempts to reinvent the cardinals. Just make a series of prudent personnel decisions. This is for the best in the long run.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.