The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

MLB updates 2013 post-season schedule

On Monday, Major League Baseball announced the game times for the 2013 Postseason though Friday, October 4, with coverage primarily by TBS with MLB Network. FOX Network will take over for the ALCS and World Series.

Play is set to open with the National League Wild Card Game on Tuesday, October 1. The American League Wild Card Game will follow the next day.

The Cardinals’ opener, at home on Thursday against Tuesday’s Wild Card winner between Cincinnati and Pittsburgh, will be played at 4:07 p.m. Central/5:07 Eastern and televised by TBS. Game 2 between the same two teams will begin just 20 hours later. That will be one of two DS games to appear on MLB Network.

The full schedule follows. (This article will be updated as more information is announced.)

Wild Card Date Network Air Time (ET)
NL – Reds at Pirates Tuesday, October 1 TBS 8:07 p.m.
AL – Rays at Indians Wednesday, October 2 TBS 8:07 p.m.
AL Division Series Date Network Air Time (ET)
Rays at Red Sox, Game 1 Friday, October 4 TBS 3:07 p.m.
Tigers at Athletics, Game 1 Friday, October 4 TBS 9:37 p.m.
Rays at Red Sox, Game 2 Saturday, October 5 TBS 5:37 p.m.
Tigers at Athletics, Game 2 Saturday, October 5 TBS 9:07 p.m.
Red Sox at Rays, Game 3 Monday, October 7 TBS 6:07/7:07 p.m.
Athletics at Tigers, Game 3 Monday, October 7 MLBN 1:07 p.m.
Red Sox at Rays, Game 4* Tuesday, October 8 TBS 8:37 p.m.
Athletics at Tigers, Game 4* Tuesday, October 8 TBS 5:07 p.m.
Rays at Red Sox, Game 5* Red Sox advance
Tigers at Athletics, Game 5* Thursday, October 10 TBS 8:07 p.m.
NL Division Series Date Network Air Time (ET)
Bucs at Cardinals, Game 1 Thursday, October 3 TBS 5:07 p.m.
Dodgers at Braves, Game 1 Thursday, October 3 TBS 8:37 p.m.
Bucs at Cardinals, Game 2 Friday, October 4 MLB Network 1:07 p.m.
Dodgers at Braves, Game 2 Friday, October 4 TBS 6:07 p.m.
Cardinals at Bucs, Game 3 Sunday, October 6 TBS 4:37 p.m.
Braves at Dodgers, Game 3 Sunday, October 6 TBS 8:07 p.m.
Cardinals at Bucs, Game 4 Monday, October 7 TBS 3:07 p.m.
Braves at Dodgers, Game 4* Monday, October 7 TBS 9:37 p.m.
Bucs at Cardinals, Game 5* Wednesday, October 9 TBS 8:07 p.m.
Dodgers at Braves, Game 5* Dodgers advance
AL Championship Series Date Network Air Time (ET)
Tigers at Red Sox, Game 1 Saturday, October 12 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Tigers at Red Sox, Game 2 Sunday, October 13 FOX 8:15 p.m.
Red Sox at Tigers, Game 3 Tuesday, October 15 FOX 4:07 p.m.
Red Sox at Tigers, Game 4 Wednesday, October 16 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Red Sox at Tigers, Game 5 Thursday, October 17 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Tigers at Red Sox, Game 6* Saturday, October 19 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Tigers at Red Sox, Game 7* Red Sox advance
NL Championship Series Date Network Air Time (ET)
Dodgers at Cards, Game 1 Friday, October 11 TBS 8:37 p.m.
Dodgers at Cards, Game 2 Saturday, October 12 TBS 4:07 p.m.
Cards at Dodgers, Game 3 Monday, October 14 TBS 8:07 p.m.
Cards at Dodgers, Game 4 Tuesday, October 15 TBS 8:07 p.m.
Cards at Dodgers, Game 5 Wednesday, October 16 TBS 4:07 p.m.
Dodgers at Cards, Game 6 Friday, October 18 TBS 8:37 p.m.
Dodgers at Cards, Game 7* Cardinals advance
World Series Date Network Air Time (ET)
Cards at Red Sox, Game 1 Wednesday, October 23 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Cards at Red Sox, Game 2 Thursday, October 24 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Red Sox at Cards, Game 3 Saturday, October 26 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Red Sox at Cards, Game 4 Sunday, October 27 FOX 8:15 p.m.
Red Sox at Cards, Game 5* Monday, October 28 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Cards at Red Sox, Game 6* Wednesday, October 30 FOX 8:07 p.m.
Cards at Red Sox, Game 7* Thursday, October 31 FOX 8:07 p.m.
* If necessary
Multiple times depend on other series concluding

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow The Cardinal Nation Blog on Facebook.

8 Responses to “MLB updates 2013 post-season schedule”

  1. JumboShrimp says:

    Matt Holliday quietly rose to have the highest OPS this past season. Nice going!

  2. blingboy says:

    “Top farm system and best record? That’s a rare occurrence and tells us all we need to know about the intelligence of this baseball operation.”

    A quote from Bernie’s column.

  3. JumboShrimp says:

    The Pirates are good and have a lot of popular support in Pittsburg and elsewhere around the country. They are the Cinderella team.

    Last time they were in St Louis, they did not play well. They were blown out for 3 games. We know how to beat them and they know we know.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.