The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

First three 2013 Cardinals spring training games announced

Earlier in the off-season, three Major League Baseball clubs, Oakland, Colorado and Philadelphia, reminded us that 2013 spring training is not too far away by announcing their tentative slate of February and March games.

Sadly, the A’s and Rockies compete in the Cactus League, making them spring-irrelevant to the St. Louis Cardinals. The Phils, which train on the Gulf Coast of Florida, do not have the Cards on their 2013 spring docket, either.

However, that changed on Thursday as the newest American League club, the Houston Astros, released their spring training slate of games. Though the Cardinals will no longer play their former National League Central Division rival as often as 18 times in the regular season, they are set to meet three times this coming spring. The first is scheduled in Jupiter on Monday, February 25. (Later, the two clubs will also face off a total of four times during expanded interleague play in June and July.)

Using the official, but tentative, schedule from MLB.com, unofficial information from springtrainingonline.com, and other sources, 11 Cardinals spring games appear to be lined up so far. Of course, many more will come to fill out the dates.

As always, check back here for additional information as it is made available, including opponents plus spring radio and television plans from the Cardinals and their Grapefruit League combatants.

St. Louis Cardinals very tentative spring training schedule, 2013

Day Date Opponent Location Local Time TV Radio
Sat 23-Feb
Sun 24-Feb
Mon 25-Feb Astros Jupiter
Tue 26-Feb
Wed 27-Feb
Thu 28-Feb
Fri 1-Mar Astros Kissimmee
Sat 2-Mar Marlins Jupiter (home)
Sun 3-Mar Nationals Viera
Mon 4-Mar
Tue 5-Mar
Wed 6-Mar
Thu 7-Mar
Fri 8-Mar Nationals Viera
Sat 9-Mar
Sun 10-Mar Mets Jupiter
Mon 11-Mar
Tue 12-Mar Braves Lake Buena Vista
Wed 13-Mar
Thu 14-Mar
Fri 15-Mar Nationals Jupiter
Sat 16-Mar
Sun 17-Mar
Mon 18-Mar
Tue 19-Mar
Wed 20-Mar
Thu 21-Mar
Fri 22-Mar Astros Kissimmee
Sat 23-Mar
Sun 24-Mar Mets Jupiter
Mon 25-Mar Twins Ft. Myers
Tue 26-Mar
Wed 27-Mar
Thu 28-Mar
Fri 29-Mar
Sat 30-Mar
Sun 31-Mar
Regular season opener
Mon 1-Apr D-backs Phoenix

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow The Cardinal Nation Blog on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.