The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

23 of 28 Cardinals 2012 spring games on TV or radio

Note: This schedule has since been updated. Click here for the most current version.

For any sporting event, watching and listening to the familiar home broadcasters is usually preferred. Yet in the case of spring training, a time when game coverage is less than 100 percent, catching any broadcast is better than the alternative, isn’t it?

To that end, I have compiled a master list of all St. Louis Cardinals spring television and radio plans no matter who will be originating the broadcast.

The Cardinals are slated to play 28 spring training games in Florida in 2012. Previously announced was a subset of 18 to be covered by either FOX Sports Midwest television (five games), KMOX radio (16 games) or in the case of three games, by both.

That leaves 10 uncovered.

Now that the broadcast schedules of the Cardinals’ eight spring opponents have been posted on MLB.com, we find that five of those other ten St. Louis games will be covered by one of their affiliates.

This includes two televised games against the Mets on SportsNet New York on March 6 and 13, one radio contest against the Twins on the 15th, and two Marlins games on Miami radio on March 16 and 29.

The final tally lists 23 of the Cardinals 28 Florida games that can either be watched or listened-to, a solid coverage rate of 82 percent.

To receive the out-of-market feeds, consider a subscription to MLB.TV (television and radio) and MLB Gameday Audio (radio only). Though I have found support to be hit and miss, these services are good values overall. If you are going to subscribe for the 2012 season anyway, there is no reason to not do it in time for spring training as well.

If you are only interested in audio on your PC and want a deal, take a look at joining “Cardinals Nation,” a fan club program run by the St. Louis Cardinals organization. For just $19.95, you receive a variety of benefits, including two game tickets and a season subscription to MLB Gameday Audio.

I will update this broadcast information when the satellite radio and television providers disclose their spring schedules as well.

St. Louis Cardinals 2012 spring training television schedule (as of February 17)

Day Date Opponent Location Time StL TV Opp TV StL radio Opp radio
Monday 5-Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Tuesday 6-Mar New York Mets Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m. SNY
Wednesday 7-Mar Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m.
Thursday 8-Mar Boston Red Sox Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Friday 9-Mar Minnesota Twins Fort Myers 1:05 p.m, ESPN 1500
Saturday 10-Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter** 1:05 p.m. KMOX WAXY
Sunday 11-Mar Washington Nationals Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Monday 12-Mar Washington Nats (ss) Viera 1:05 p.m.
12-Mar Atlanta Braves (ss) Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX WFOM
Tuesday 13-Mar New York Mets Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m. SNY
Wednesday 14-Mar Houston Astros Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX KBME
Thursday 15-Mar Boston Red Sox Fort Myers 2:30 p.m.
Friday 16-Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m. WAXY
Saturday 17-Mar Detroit Tigers Lakeland 1;05 p.m. FSMidwest KMOX 97.1 FM
Sunday 18-Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX WAXY
Monday 19-Mar Atlanta Braves Buena Vista 1:05 p.m. FSMidwest WFOM
Tuesday 20-Mar Houston Astros Kissimmee 1:05 p.m. FSMidwest FSHouston KBME
Wednesday 21-Mar New York Mets Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Thursday 22-Mar Washington Nationals Jupiter 1:05 p.m. FSMidwest KMOX
Friday 23-Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter** 1:05 p.m.
Saturday 24-Mar New York Mets Port St. Lucie 1:10 p.m. FSMidwest WPIX NY KMOX WFAN
Sunday 25-Mar Minnesota Twins Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX ESPN 1500
Monday 26-Mar New York Mets Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Tuesday 27-Mar OPEN DATE
Wednesday 28-Mar Detroit Tigers Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Thursday 29-Mar Miami Marlins Jupiter** 1:05 p.m. WAXY
Friday 30-Mar New York Mets Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Saturday 31-Mar Washington Nationals Viera 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Sunday 1-Apr Washington Nationals Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Monday 2-Apr Springfield Cardinals Springfield, Mo. 6:10 p.m.
Times are local
** Cardinals road team
(ss) Split Squad

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow The Cardinal Nation Blog on Facebook.
Follow TCN on Google+.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.