The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

Cardinals spring television telecasts up to nine

Almost one in every three 2011 St. Louis Cardinals spring training games may be available on television.

Update 2/25: MLB.TV has now published their 150+ game spring schedule that includes nine Cardinals contests. The information is added below. The fee of $119.95 for HD and $99.95 for standard def includes spring and the regular season. Boxes supported include PC, Mac, iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad and more.

Update 2/17: MLB Network has announced their spring slate of 83 games, four of which include the Cardinals. This does not increase the previous total of ten games as all were previously scheduled on regional networks. However with MLB Network’s national reach, more Cardinals fans have a better chance of seeing these contests now. See the updates in the table below.

Update 2/9: The official slate of games, spring and regular season, has been announced by the Cardinals and FOX Sports Midwest. This includes five spring games, two more than I had previously reported. The March 16 game, already announced on FOX Detroit will also be on FOX Midwest. The March 19 split-squad game at Kissimmee against Houston is new. The table below reflects these updates with the total of spring games televised on any network now up to ten.

My original 2/5 post follows…

Though there has been no announcement, official or otherwise, from the St. Louis Cardinals or FOX Sports Midwest regarding their spring training television schedule, I have learned from other sources there are tentative plans to telecast three games from Florida. This includes the March 26 game against Florida which will be simulcast on FOX Sports Midwest and FOX Sports Florida, brought to viewers via a shared booth of Rick Horton (Cardinals play-by-play) and Tommy Hutton (Marlins analyst).

In addition, while not all of St. Louis’ Florida opponents have divulged their spring television plans, most have. Specifically, the Cardinals’ nearest residents, the Marlins and the Mets, against whom the Cardinals play most often each spring, have announced their March broadcast schedules.

The New Yorkers have picked up three games against St. Louis, two of which will run on SportsNet New York and the other on over-the-air WPIX. This includes an opportunity for early viewing as SNY will be showing the Cardinals’ third game of the spring, on Thursday, March 3.

The schedule includes a game against Detroit on FOX Sports Detroit on the 16th, a Boston contest picked up by New England Sports Network (NESN) on the 20th and a national ESPN match versus the Mets on March 23.

In fact, during the final week of camp, that ESPN telecast kicks off a run of four consecutive St. Louis games being televised. That includes the Cardinals’ only night contest in Florida this spring, from Viera against the Nationals on Friday, March 25, on FOX Sports Midwest.

All in all, the tentative Cardinals spring training television docket currently sits at nine games.

Which games you will be able see in your area is dependent on a number of factors. Though their schedules have not yet been divulged, it is expected that both the home and away telecasts should be available via MLB.com’s subscription service (with appropriate blackout rules) and perhaps via your satellite provider (depending on your service packages). More details will be provided as they become available.

Cardinals spring radio broadcasts on KMOX, previously announced, are included in the table below.

Tentative Cardinals 2011 Spring Training Broadcast Schedule

Day Date Opponent Location Local Time Radio TV
Mon 28-Feb Florida Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Tue 1-Mar Florida Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX/XM 186
Wed 2-Mar NY Mets Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Thu 3-Mar Washington (ss) Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX/XM 186
Thu 3-Mar NY Mets (ss) St. Lucie 1:10 p.m. SNY/MLBN (delay)
Fri 4-Mar Houston Kissimmee 1:05 p.m.
Sat 5-Mar Houston Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX (delay)
Sun 6-Mar Florida Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Mon 7-Mar Minnesota Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m.
Tue 8-Mar Boston Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Wed 9-Mar Atlanta Orlando 1:05 p.m.
Thu 10-Mar Atlanta Orlando 1:05 p.m.
Fri 11-Mar Detroit Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Sat 12-Mar Minnesota Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Sun 13-Mar NY Mets St. Lucie 1:10 p.m. KMOX WPIX-NY/MLB.TV
Mon 14-Mar Atlanta Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Tue 15-Mar Atlanta Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Wed 16-Mar Detroit Lakeland 1:05 p.m. FS Detroit/Midwest/MLB.TV
Thu 17-Mar Florida Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX FS Midwest/MLBN/MLB.TV
Fri 18-Mar Washington Viera 1:05 p.m.
Sat 19-Mar Florida (ss) Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Sat 19-Mar Houston (ss) Kissimmee 1:05 p.m. FS Midwest/MLB.TV
Sun 20-Mar Boston Ft. Myers 1:05 p.m. KMOX NESN/MLBN/MLB.TV
Mon 21-Mar Washington Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Tue 22-Mar OFF DAY 1:05 p.m.
Wed 23-Mar NY Mets Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX ESPN/MLB.TV
Thu 24-Mar NY Mets St. Lucie 1:10 p.m. SNY/MLBN/MLB.TV
Fri 25-Mar Washington Viera 6:05 p.m. KMOX FS Midwest/MLB.TV
Sat 26-Mar Florida Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX FS FL/Midwest/MLB.TV
Sun 27-Mar NY Mets Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Mon 28-Mar Florida Jupiter 1:05 p.m.
Tue 29-Mar Florida (ss) Jupiter 1:05 p.m. KMOX
Tue 29-Mar Springfield (ss) Sprf, MO 7:07 p.m. KTRS 550

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow The Cardinal Nation Blog on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.