The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

A decade of Cardinals Gold Glove and Silver Slugger excellence

With 21 Gold Glove Awards over the last ten years, the St. Louis Cardinals almost doubled the next closest team and added another 13 Sliver Slugger Awards.

Albert Pujols and Scott Rolen with their 2006 Gold Gloves (Getty Images)On Wednesday, the St. Louis Cardinals garnered two 2010 National League Gold Glove Awards. Catcher Yadier Molina took his third straight and first baseman Albert Pujols was voted his second overall.

Regular contributor Tom Orf notes that Cardinals players have received 21 Gold Glove Awards in the most recent decade, ten more than any of the other 29 MLB clubs can tout.

Over the 2001-10 period, the Cardinals are also the only team to have fielded a Gold Glove winner at every position, with multiple awards at every roster spot other than pitcher, where Adam Wainwright won in 2009. He was the first Cardinals pitcher to take the vote since Bob Gibson’s nine-year run from 1965-73.

Scott Rolen and Jim Edmonds were each selected four times as Cardinals during the decade. In addition, Rolen received the award representing the Phillies in 2000 and 2001 and with the Cincinnati Reds in 2010. Edmonds was also voted a 2000 NL award and two previously in the American League, in 1997-98.

Between Yadier Molina and Mike Matheny, the Cardinals have owned the NL catching Gold Glove in seven of the last 11 years. (Matheny had also taken home the award in 2000.)

Over the decade, only in 2007 did the Cardinals not field at least one Gold Glove winner.

St. Louis Cardinals, Gold Glove Award winners, 2001-10

Catcher Yadier Molina 2008-10 Mike Matheny 2003-05
First base Albert Pujols 2006, 10
Second base Fernando Vina 2001-02
Shortstop Edgar Renteria 2002-03
Third base Scott Rolen 2002-04, 06
Outfield Jim Edmonds 2001-05
Pitcher Adam Wainwright 2010

On Thursday, the National League Silver Slugger Awards for the top hitters were announced. First baseman Pujols took home his sixth across three different positions while outfielder Matt Holliday earned his fourth, but first as a Cardinal after three with Colorado.

Pujols had initially been selected at third base in his rookie season of 2001, then in the outfield two years later. His fourth win at first base ties Colorado’s Todd Helton for the most Silver Slugger selections at the position over the history of the Award, which was first announced in 1980.

2010 was the fifth time in the decade that the Cardinals had two Silver Sluggers, most recently having been Pujols and outfielder Ryan Ludwick in 2008. Oddly, in 2005, Pujols’ first Most Valuable Player Award season, he missed out on both the Gold Glove and Silver Slugger to Chicago’s Derrek Lee.

St. Louis’ Silver Slugger team total over the last ten years is 13. Unlike the full positional representation of Gold Gloves, the Cardinals were shut out of the offensive awards at catcher and second base this decade. The club had no selections in their World Championship 2006 season or in 2007.

St. Louis Cardinals, Silver Slugger Award winners, 2001-10

Catcher none
First base Albert Pujols 2004, 08-10
Second base none
Shortstop Edgar Renteria 2002-03
Third base Scott Rolen 2002 Albert Pujols 2001
Outfield Matt Holliday 2010 Ryan Ludwick 2008
Jim Edmonds 2004 Albert Pujols 2003
Pitcher Jason Marquis 2005

Pujols is the seventh Cardinal to be awarded both a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger in the same season. The others who accomplished it this decade were Edmonds (2004), Edgar Renteria (2002-03) and Rolen (2002). Former Cardinals greats Ozzie Smith, Willie McGee and Keith Hernandez completed the single-season double during the 1980’s.

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow The Cardinal Nation Blog on Facebook.

Follow me

Brian Walton

Brian Walton runs The Cardinal Nation and The Cardinal Nation Blog, covering the St. Louis Cardinals and minor league system.
Follow me

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.