The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

Pujols ties MLB career lead in 30-30 power seasons

St. Louis Cardinals slugger Albert Pujols now has as many 30 doubles-30 home run seasons as anyone in MLB history.

Albert Pujols' 400th home run, 08/26/10 (Getty Images/Greg Fiume)Home runs aren’t the only indicator of power and production. Doubles are another important measure.

On the same Thursday evening he earlier blasted his 400th career home run, St. Louis Cardinals slugger Albert Pujols reached another milestone that measures both home run and doubles proficiency.

When the first baseman stroked his 30th double of the 2010 in the eighth inning off Washington Nationals pitcher Tyler Clippard, he reached the 30-30 mark, doubles and home runs, for the tenth time in ten seasons.

That ties the 30-year-old Pujols for the most such seasons of anyone to have ever played the game.

In the process, Albert joined Manny Ramirez and Carlos Delgado, who each last reached the milestone in 2008. While both are 38 years old, they are still active; however Delgado is in the minor leagues while Manny has just 15 doubles and eight home runs currently.

Albert is the only one of the top three to have accomplished it in ten consecutive years and in every season possible.

Note that Barry Bonds accomplished this version of the 30-30 only seven times and the great Babe Ruth just six, same as Cardinals icon Stan Musial.

All things considered, Pujols is well-positioned to take the career lead in this category in 2011.

30 double-30 home run seasons, MLB, career

Rk Yrs From To
T1 Albert Pujols 10 2001 2010
T1 Carlos Delgado 10 1997 2008
T1 Manny Ramirez 10 1996 2008
T4 Jimmie Foxx 9 1930 1940
T4 Lou Gehrig 9 1927 1937
6 Jeff Bagwell 8 1994 2002
T7 Alex Rodriguez 7 1996 2008
T7 Rafael Palmeiro 7 1993 2002
T7 Albert Belle 7 1993 1999
T7 Barry Bonds 7 1990 2002
T11 Mark Teixeira 6 2004 2009
T11 Miguel Cabrera 6 2004 2010
T11 Todd Helton 6 1999 2004
T11 Vladimir Guerrero 6 1998 2006
T11 Frank Thomas 6 1991 2003
T11 Frank Robinson 6 1959 1966
T11 Hank Aaron 6 1958 1969
T11 Stan Musial 6 1948 1955
T11 Ted Williams 6 1939 1949
T11 Babe Ruth 6 1920 1931

Thanks to researcher Tom Orf for the above table.

Follow me on Twitter.
Follow The Cardinal Nation Blog on Facebook.

Follow me

Brian Walton

Brian Walton runs The Cardinal Nation and The Cardinal Nation Blog, covering the St. Louis Cardinals and minor league system.
Follow me

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.