The Cardinal Nation blog

Brian Walton's news and commentary on the St. Louis Cardinals (TM) and their minor league system

July is Colby Rasmus time

What a difference a year makes.

As July, 2008 opened, St. Louis Cardinals outfielder Colby Rasmus was toiling for the Memphis Redbirds, looking forward to playing both in the Futures Game and the Summer Olympics.

Then in the first game of the month, on July 1, Rasmus was sidelined by a groin strain. After missing the Futures Game, he returned for just five contests later in the month before suffering another injury, a sprain of the MCL in his left knee. That nixed his Olympic plans and ended his Triple-A season.

On this July 1, Rasmus celebrated his ascension to the Cardinals starting lineup by slamming a walk-off home run to defeat the San Francisco Giants Wednesday evening. He collected three more hits on Thursday and Friday before going deep again on Saturday, a blast estimated to have traveled over 450 feet.

On Sunday, batting second, Rasmus was on base three times with a walk and two more hits, including another home run, a two-run shot. The first inning homer was his third long ball in the club’s five July games. During this time, the 22-year-old is 8-for-17, .471.

The man considered the first-half leader for the National League Rookie of the Year Award now has ten home runs in 2009. That already places him in the top ten in club history for a Cardinals player in his first season.

With just under half the season remaining, Rasmus is on a pace to hit 20 home runs. That would put him second among all Cardinals ever for home runs by a first-year player.

Of course, Albert Pujols is first with 27 in his rookie 2001 season, a campaign during which he earned the ROY Award, but consider the lofty company Rasmus is joining…

Cardinals home runs by first-year players

Rank Player HR Year Age
1 Albert Pujols 37 2001 21
2 Ray Jablonski 21 1953 26
3 Johnny Mize 19 1936 23
4 Ken Boyer 18 1955 24
T5 Bill Virdon 17 1955 24
T5 George Watkins 17 1930 30
7 Rip Repulski 15 1953 24
8 Wally Moon 12 1954 24
9 Joe Cunningham 11 1954 22
T10 Don Padgett 10 1937 25
T10 Colby Rasmus 10 2009 22
T12 Joe Mather 8 2008 25
T12 Andy Van Slyke 8 1983 22
T12 Leon Durham 8 1980 22
T12 Fred Whitfield 8 1962 24
T12 Enos Slaughter 8 1938 22
17 Lou Klein 7 1943 24
T18 Gene Oliver 6 1959 24
T18 Tommy Glaviano 6 1949 25
T18 Stu Martin 6 1936 23
T18 Terry Moore 6 1935 23

Thanks to Tom Orf for the player list.

Follow me

Brian Walton

Brian Walton runs The Cardinal Nation and The Cardinal Nation Blog, covering the St. Louis Cardinals and minor league system.
Follow me

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.